



# EHF NEWS 130 - 18.09.2008

## 2008 UNIQA EHF Men's Champions Trophy



The 2008 UNIQA EHF Men's Champions Trophy will take place on Saturday 20 & 21 September 2008 with four top teams. The champion and runner-up of the 2007/2008 EHF Champions League and the winners of last season's European Cup competitions will be in Veszprem, Hungary for the event. The event will be played in the brand-new event arena in Veszprem, which will also become the home of the Champions League team MKB Veszprem. The 2008 UNIQA EHF Men's Champions Trophy will be preceded by the **2008 EHF Season Opener Event – Press Conference o**n Saturday, 20 September at 14:30.

# 2008 UNIQA EHF MEN'S CHAMPIONS TROPHY IN VESZPRÉM, HUNGARY

Participants 2007/08 Champions League winner 2007/08 EHF Cup winner 2007/08 Cup Winners' Cup winner Wild card for CL runner-up

ESP BM Ciudad Real GER HSG Nordhorn HUN MKB Veszprém GER THW Kiel

Date: 20-21 September 2008 Venue: Veszprém Arena in Veszprém, Hungary Local organiser: MKB Veszprém

Playing schedule:

Saturday, 20 September 2008

16:00 local time - Semi-final 1: Nordhorn /GER vs Veszprém /HUNReferees:Brunovsky/Canda – SVKDelegates:Herman – ISR, Djurkovic – SRB18:00 local time - Semi-final 2: THW Kiel/GER vs Ciudad Real/ESPReferees:Olesen/Pedersen – DENDelegates:Herman – ISR, Djurkovic - SRB

### Sunday, 21 September 2008

13:00 local time - 3/4 Final: Loser Semi-final 1 vs Loser Semi-final 2 15:00 local time - Final: Winner Semi-final 1 vs Winner Semi-final 2

All matches will be streamed live! Information at eurohandball.com. Complete coverage of the event will be at <u>www.eurohandball.com</u>.

# PRIZE MONEY

Alongside the honour of being crowned champion club of Europe, the teams will also be playing for prize money which is distributed as follows: 1<sup>st</sup> place – €30.000, 2<sup>nd</sup> place - €15.000, 3<sup>rd</sup> place - €10.000, 4<sup>th</sup> place €5.000

#### **HISTORY OF THE EVENT**

The Champions Trophy looks back on a long history making it one of the most prestigious events of the pre-season. The tournament has previously come under the title of European Championship for Club Teams, or also commonly known as the Supercup. The EHF relaunched the event under the new name of Champions Trophy in 2007, which is fitting because the champions of the Champions League, EHF Cup and Cup Winners' Cup meet a wild card entrant to offer the public this attractive event.

#### Year Winner 1996 FC Barcelona 1997 FC Barcelona 1998 FC Barcelona 1999 FC Barcelona 2000 Portland San Antonio 2001 Magdeburg 2002 Magdeburg 2003 FC Barcelona 2004 Celje Pivovarna Lasko 2005 BM Ciudad Real BM Ciudad Real 2006 2007 THW Kiel

Venue Bielefeld (GER) Irun (ESP) FC Barcelona (ESP) Magdeburg (GER) Pamplona (ESP) Kiel (GER) Magdeburg (GER) Valladolid (ESP) Ciudad Real (ESP) Leon (ESP) Köln (GER) Celje (SLO)