

EHF NEWS 128 - 15.09.2008



2008 EHF Women's Champions Trophy

On 13/14 September, the 2008 EHF Women's Champions Trophy took place in Chekhov, in the Moscow region of Russia. The hosts and current EHF Champions League titleholders, Zvenigorod Zvezda, took the title after a thrilling and extremely close match against arch rivals, Hypo Niederöstereich.

The final ranking was as follows:

- 1 RUS Zvenigorod Zvezda
- 2 AUT Hypo Niederösterreich
- 3 NOR Larvik HK
- 4 RUS Dinamo Volgograd



Here are the weekend's results:

Saturday, 13 September 2008

16:00 local time (12:00 GMT)

Semi-final 1: HK Larvik /NOR vs Hypo Niedösterreich/AUT: 31:35 (16:12)

18:30 local time (14:30 GMT)

Semi-final 2: Zvezda Zvenigorod/RUS vs Dinamo Volgograd/RUS: 23:21 (12:15)

Sunday, 14 September 2008

16:00 local time (12:00 GMT)

3/4 Final: HK Lavik/NOR vs Dinamo Volgograd/RUS: 28:24 (13:13)

18:30 local time (14:30 GMT)

Final: Zvezda Zvenigorod/RUS vs Hypo Niederösterreich/AUT 28:27 (14:14)

The EHF was represented by the Executive Committee Members Frantisek Taborsky/CZE and Arne Elovsson/SWE.

Best Players also honoured:

Not only the best team, but also the best players of the tournament were rewarded for their performance. At the end of the tournament, three stars of three teams stepped up to receive the awards from the organisers:

Most Valuable Player:Seong Ok Oh (Hypo Niederosterreich)Best goalkeeper:Inna Suslina (Zvenigorod Zvezda)Top scorer:Linn-Kristin Riegelhuth (Larvik HK)