

EUROPEAN HANDBALL FEDERATION EUROPÄISCHE HANDBALL FÖDERATION FEDERATION EUROPEENNE DE HANDBALL

EHF NEWS 125 - 12.09.2008



2008 EHF Women's Champions Trophy

On 13/14 September, the 2008 EHF Women's Champions Trophy will take place. The event will be hosted by defending Champions League titleholders, Zvenigorod Zvezda and will be played in the Sports hall "Olimpiysky" in Chekhov, in the Moscow region. All the 2007/2008 European

club competition winners will be up against each other and they are joined by EHF Champions League runner-up, Hypo Niederösterreich.

Here are the high-profile participants: 2007/08 Champions League winner 2007/08 EHF Cup winner 2007/08 Cup Winners' Cup winner Wild card for CL runner-up

Here is the weekend's playing schedule:

Saturday, 13 September 2008 16:00 local time (12:00 GMT) Semi-final 1: Hypo /AUT vs Larvik HK/NOR Referees: Geipel/Helbig GER EHF delegates: Stasova SVK and Konoplyasty UKR

18:30 local time (14:30 GMT) Semi-final 2: Zvezda Zvenigorod/RUS vs Dinamo Volgograd/RUS Referees: Kékes/Kékes HUN EHF delegates: Stasova SVK and Konoplyasty UKR

Sunday, 14 September 2008 16:00 local time (12:00 GMT) 3/4 Final: Loser Semi-final 1 vs Loser Semi-final 2

18:30 local time (14:30 GMT) Final: Winner Semi-final 1 vs Winner Semi-final 2 The referees for the finals will be nominated after the semi-finals.

The EHF will be represented by the Executive Committee Members Frantisek Taborsky/CZE and Arne Elovsson/SWE.

RUS Zvenigorod Zvezda RUS Dinamo Volgograd NOR Larvik HK AUT Hypo Niederösterreich History of the event

The Women's Champions Trophy looks back on a 14-year old history making it one of the most prestigious events of the season.

The tournament has previously come under the title of European Championship for Club Teams, or also commonly known as the Supercup. The EHF relaunched the event under the new name of Champions Trophy in 2007, which is fitting because the champions of the Champions League, EHF Cup and Cup Winners' Cup meet a wild card entrant to offer the public this attractive event. Here is a look back at the previous winners of the event.

Year	Winner
1994	Hypo Niederösterreich
1995	Rotor Volgograd
1996	Podravka Koprivnica
1997	Mar EL Osito l'Eliana Valencia
1998	Ikast F.S.
1999	Dunaferr SE
2000	Hypo Niederösterreich
2001	Viborg HK A/S
2002	Kometal D. P. Skopje
2003	Krim Ljubljana
2004	Krim Ljubljana
2006	Viborg HK A/S
2007	Oltchim Rm. Valcea

Venue Herning (DEN) Volgograd (RUS) Koprivnica (CRO) Ljubljana (SLO) Silkeborg (DEN) Viborg (DEN) Maria Enzersdorf (AUT) Arhus (DEN) Skopje (MKD) Farum (DEN) Leipzig (GER) Viborg (DEN) Valcea (ROU)

Reports from Checkhov can be found at eurohandball.com throughout the weekend.