

EHF NEWS 98 - 03.07.2008

2008/2009 EHF Men's & Women's Champions League Group Phase Draw



The draw for the 2008/2009 EHF Men's & Women's Champions League Group Phase Draw will take place in the Gothenburg Scandinavium Arena on 4th July 2008. This follows on from last season's exclusive 15 Year Champions League celebratory gala

event. This year, it's "back to the roots", with the event taking place prior to the Leaders' Party of the Partille Cup – the world's largest youth handball tournament.

The draw season opened early this week, on 1 July, with the draw for the qualification round in the Men's EHF Champions League and the two qualification rounds in the Women's EHF Champions League. The links to the draw results can be found in the e-mail.

Here are the organisation rights to hold the Women's EHF Champions League qualification tournaments:

Right to organise the groups in Qualification Round 1

Group A Group B

1 st right for row 3:	Sassari	Nis
2 nd right for row 4:	Brühl	Amsterdam
3 rd right for row 1:	Bratislava	Patras
4 th right for row 2:	Milly Piango	Madeira

Right to organise the groups in Qualification Round 2

	Group 1	Group 2	Group 3	Group 4
1 st right for row 1:	Itxako	Byasen	Ikast	Dunaferr
2 nd right for row 2:	Leipzig	Volgograd	Brasov	FC Kopenhagen
3 rd right for row 3:	Podravka	Metz	Lublin	Zaporoshje
4 th right for row 4:	Winner B	Winner A	2 nd A	2 nd B

Group Phase Draw

The draw on 4 July 2008 will start at 18:30, will be streamed online at www.ehfcl.com and offered via the EBU network. Here is a break down of the event:

18:30	Opening words
18:35	Women's Top Scorer Announcement
18:40	Women's Group Draw
19:00	Men's & Women's CL Highlights
19:05	Men's Top Scorer Announcements
19:08	Men's Group Draw
19:30	End of Draw Programme

Draw Procedure

The pots for the draw and the seeding of the teams can be found in the attached documents in the email. The women's competition will be drawn by the 2007/2008 Women's CL Top Scorer Timea Toth and the men's competition by 2007/2008 Men's CL Top Scorer Kiril Lazarov.

However, please note that the teams drawn in the Women's Qualification Group Draw on 1 July would normally be drawn to pot 4 of the Group Matches by indicating "Winner Qualification Group 1" etc. This is not possible due to the many different possibilities of teams from the same country meeting each other in the Group Matches.

In accordance with the EHF Champions League Regulations teams from the same country are not allowed to be drawn to the same group, the assignment of the winners of the qualification groups will therefore only be carried out after the qualification groups are concluded on Sunday, October 5, 2008.

The winner of each qualification group will be assigned to the Champions League Groups according to the seeding in pot 1 of Round 2 of the qualification. Consequently, the winner of qualification group 3 (the group with Ikast as the top seed) will go to the first possible Champions League group in an order "from left to right" which means from group A to group D. Next will be the winner of group 4 (the group of Dunaferr), followed by the winner of group 1 (the group of Itxako) and finally the winner of group 2 (the group of Byasen). As mentioned before, these winners will be assigned from group A to group D as it is possible by considering the fact that teams from the same country have to be kept apart. This will be published accordingly.

Further matters

For TV enquiries, please contact Ulrich Gutweniger at gutweniger@ehfmarketing.com. For press/information enquiries and photo requests please contact Sian Rowland at rowland@eurohandball.com.