

EHF NEWS 51 - 09.04.2008

2010 EHF Euro in Austria (19 to 31 January 2010)

Details to the draw of the Qualification Groups



Date:

Friday, 18 April 2008 at 20.00 hrs. Venue: Akademie der Wissenschaften, Vienna/Austria

A total number 16 teams will participate in the final tournament.

Directly Qualified for the 2010 EHF Euro in Austria:

> **DEN**: Defending Champion > AUT: Organiser

Apart from DEN and AUT, a total of 38 National Federations have registered for the qualification matches to the 2010 EHF Euro.

These 38 teams will be drawn into a total of 7 groups. There will be 3 groups with 6 teams and 4 groups with 5 teams. The teams ranked 1st and 2nd from each group are directly qualified for the 2010 EHF Euro in Austria.

Here are the 38 participating teams in alphabetical order:

Belgium (BEL), Bosnia Herzegovina (BIH), Belarus (BLR), Bulgaria (BUL), Croatia (CRO), Cyprus (CYP), Czech Republic (CZE), Spain (ESP), Estonia (EST), Faroe Islands (FAR), Finland (FIN), France (FRA), Georgia (GEO), Germany (GER), Greece (GRE), Hungary (HUN), Iceland (ISL), Israel (ISR), Italy (ITA), Latvia (LAT), Lithuania (LTU), Luxembourg (LUX), Moldova (MDA), FYR Macedonia (MKD), Montenegro (MNE), Netherlands (NED), Norway (NOR), Poland (POL), Portugal (POR), Rumania (ROU), Russia (RUS), Slovenia (SLO), Serbia (SRB), Switzerland (SUI), Slovakia (SVK), Sweden (SWE), Turkey (TUR), Ukraine (UKR)

According to the EHF Men's National Team Ranking, the teams are divided into 6 pots. Here are the teams as they are divided into the different pots:

Pot 1: FRA, GER, CRO, ESP, POL, RUS, ISL Pot 2: SLO, NOR, HUN, SWE, SRB, CZE, UKR Pot 3: SVK, SUI, POR, BLR, ROU, LTU, MKD Pot 4: GRE, BIH, LAT, NED, ISR, MNE, EST, Pot 5: FIN, BUL, ITA, TUR, BEL, CYP, LUX Pot 6: GEO, MDA, FAR

Group 1	Group 2	Group 3	Group 4	Group 5	Group 6	Group 7		
							Step 6:	7 teams of pot 1 to row 1
							Step 5:	7 teams of pot 2 to row 2
							Step 4:	7 teams of pot 3 to row 3
							Step 3:	7 teams of pot 4 to row 4
							Step 2:	7 teams of pot 5 to row 5
					1		Step 1:	3 teams of pot 6 to row 6

The teams ranked 1-4 (FRA, GER, CRO, ESP) will be drawn to those groups with 5 teams.

The EHF Euro 2010 Final Tournament will take place 19 to 31 January 2010